Things I Never Told You

I tell everyone everything
My tongue has no guard, maybe
Because I’m addicted to words
I want to taste them all
But not with you, maybe
Because, for once, I know better
So the words grow
Like dew on a petal
That will soon give way to the weight
I dreamed of you
You’ve never made me cry
But you scare the hell out of me
Your comment on my beauty
Was so much more than flattery
You’re burned into my skin
And it seems the poison went with the pain
I believe you’ll be there forever
And yet I have no reason to
I need to let you go
But it seems I’m content to borrow
You until you’re gone
And, still I don’t cry
My broken heart stirs for you
But you might just be safe, because
You belong to someone else

Leave a Reply

